Meet The Consortium

Amiethab Aiyer, MD, FAAOS
Contributing Editor

Dr. Aiyer is an Associate Professor (pending academic rank) in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the Johns Hopkins University/School of Medicine. He is also a co-founder of OrthoMentor, a mentorship platform focusing on medical student education and advising.

Aaron Brandt, MD
Contributing Editor

Dr. Brandt is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the Johns Hopkins University/School of Medicine. He specializes in pediatric orthopaedic surgery, hip preservation, trauma and deformity.  He has particular interest in education, diversity and inclusion, and mentorship at all levels of education and training.  Dr. Brandt received his medical degree from NYU Grossman School of Medicine. After completing residency at Atrium Health/OrthoCarolina, he completed a fellowship in pediatric orthopaedic surgery at Children’s Hospital Colorado. He is a member of several national organizations including AAOS, AOA, JR Gladden Society, POSNA, LLRS and currently serves as the Emerging Leaders Delegate on the AOA Executive Committee.  

Cara Cipriano, MD, FAAOS
Contributing Editor

Dr. Cipriano specializes in Musculoskeletal Oncology and Adult Reconstruction at Washington University in St Louis. She is the Director of Medical Student Education & Engagement for the Department of Orthopedic Surgery, as well as a member of the Musculoskeletal Tumor Society’s Education Committee and the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons’ Women in Arthroplasty Committee.

Bonnie Patricia Gregory, MD
Contributing Editor

Dr. Gregory is an Assistant Professor of Orthopedic Surgery at McGovern Medical School/UTHealth at Houston in Texas. Dr. Gregory specializes in Sports Medicine with an emphasis on innovative, arthroscopic procedures and complex, open surgeries of the shoulder, elbow, and knee. She completed her residency in Orthopedic Surgery at Rush University Medical Center (Chicago, IL) followed by a fellowship in Shoulder and Sports Medicine at Duke University (Durham, NC). She serves as a team physician for the Houston Rockets, the Houston Dash, University of Houston, and Foster High School.  Dr. Gregory is a member of the AAOS, the AOSSM, AANA, RJOS,  and the AOA Emerging Leaders Program. She is passionate about sports medicine and being a team physician, championing women and URMs in orthopedics, and utilizing evidence-based, individualized treatment plans to get her patients back to the activities they enjoy. 

Dongyeon Joanna Kim, MD
Contributing Editor

Joanna is a PGY-1 resident at Columbia University Department of Orthopedics in New York, NY. She is passionate about championing women in orthopedics, advocating for medically underserved, and innovating surgical education. 

William Levine, MD, FAAOS
Contributing Editor

Dr. Levine is the Frank E. Stinchfield Professor and Chairman of Orthopedic Surgery at NYP/Columbia University Irving Medical Center and is an Emeritus Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (JAAOS).

Milton Little, MD, FAAOS
Contributing Editor

Milton Little, MD is the Orthopaedic Trauma Fellowship Director and as a member of the Orthopaedic Trauma Service at Cedars Sinai Medical Center specializes in pelvis, acetabulum, peri-articular fractures in addition to non-union fracture fixation.  He has published extensively in peer-reviewed journals including Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma, Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery and the Bone and Joint Journal (formerly JBJS Br) to name a few.  He has published on numerous topics including ankle fractures, proximal humerus fractures, tibial plateau fractures and pelvic-acetabular fractures.

He is a also member of the AO Fellowship Committee, the OTA Wellness Committee, the OTA Diversity Committee, the WOA Board, the AOA and an AO Faculty member.

Dr. Little has completed his undergraduate degree at Stanford University.  He graduated with honors from the University of Michigan Medical School in Ann Arbor, Michigan.  After completing an Orthopaedic Residency at the Hospital for Special Surgery in New York City, he finalized his training with an Orthopaedic Trauma Fellowship at Harborview Medical Center-University of Washington.

Claire McDaniel, MD
Contributing Editor

Dr. McDaniel is a third year resident at Johns Hopkins Department of Orthopaedic Surgery in Baltimore, MD. She is currently completing an NIH-funded research year to investigate econometrics and hiring discrimination within orthopaedic surgery.

Anna Miller, MD, FAAOS, FACS, FAOA
Contributing Editor

Anna N. Miller, MD, FAAOS, FACS, FAOA, is a Vice Chair for the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Chief of the Orthopaedic Trauma Division at Washington University School of Medicine. Dr. Miller did her orthopaedic residency at the Hospital for Special Surgery, then completed an orthopaedic trauma fellowship at Harborview Medical Center in Seattle, Washington.  Dr. Miller has particular interests in the improvement of orthopaedic trauma care on a national level and is the Chair of the Orthopaedic Subgroup for the American College of Surgeons’ Committee on Trauma.   She is active in the Orthopaedic Trauma Association, including the Research Committee and as the Member at Large for the OTA Board.  She also serves as an Associate Editor for The Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma, as well as being a Deputy Editor for the Journal of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons.  She was a Leadership Fellow with the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons in 2017-2018 and has been selected to be a 2022 American Orthopaedic Association American-British-Canadian Traveling Fellow.

Andrew Moon, MD
Contributing Editor

Dr. Moon is a fourth year resident at the Tufts Affiliated Hospitals Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Program in Boston, MA.

Linda Suleiman, MD
Contributing Editor

Linda I. Suleiman, MD is an assistant professor in the department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Medical Education at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine. She specializes in hip and knee arthroplasty and also serves as Assistant Dean of Medical Education and Director of Diversity and Inclusion for Graduate Medical Education. She earned her undergraduate Bachelor of Science degree in Physiology and Neurobiology from the University of Maryland. Dr. Suleiman graduated from Howard University College of Medicine and went on to complete her orthopaedic surgery residency at Northwestern University where she was the first Black woman to graduate from the program.   

Liana Tedesco, MD
Contributing Editor

Dr. Tedesco is a PGY-4 resident at Columbia University Department of Orthopedics in New York, NY. She is the current chair of the AAOS Resident Assembly Education Committee. In addition to resident education, she is interested in medical student mentoring.   

Matt Varacallo, MD
Contributing Editor

Dr. Varacallo is finishing his orthopaedic surgery sports medicine fellowship at the University of Kentucky. He is also head team surgeon for the DuBois Dream (of the NABL).  Beyond team coverage, Dr. Varacallo has a passion for mentorship, igniting his interest to co-found Orthomentor alongside Drs. Amiethab Aiyer and Jonathan Kaplan.

Kate Youdell
Site Administrator

Kate is the Content Coordinator for the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, assisting the Director of Publishing in running the Journal of the AAOS ® and maintaining the online presence of the journal. She has a Bachelors in English Literature from Lawrence University.